Meriel Jones

Chair
Meriel is a beekeeper as part of her job as Education Officer in Bute Park, Cardiff.  She has been a beekeeper for a few years and has 4 hives at the moment.    

meriel@cardiffbeekeepers.co.uk

chair@cardiffbeekeepers.co.uk

Nick Mensikov

Vice-Chair

Nick has been Vice-Chair since January 2018.  Since he was a child trying to catch any bees (bumble included) to create a hive not having a clue what I was doing to currently having around 27 hives and still not sure, what I am doing.  Nick has kept honeybees for 8 years and really enjoys the ups and downs of beekeeping, from caring for the bees to making bee related goods (candles, mead etc).  Nick believes everyone can learn from each other in all aspects of the beekeeping craft.

vicechair@cardiffbeekeepers.co.uk

Harold Williams

Apiary Manager

Harold came to work for Fon-Mon castle from the north of England in 1976. Honeybees had always been of interest but never had the facilities to keep them until moving.

Harold took over the apiary at Fon-Mon in the early 80s. Joined Cardiff Beekeepers and attended a night school course run by Ernie Plumb. Harold is now the association Apiary Manager at Dyffryn Garden.

harold@cardiffbeekeepers.co.uk

Louise Roberts

Secretary / Newsletter Editor
Louise is a member of staff at a primary school in Ely, Cardiff. She has been a bee keeper since May 2017 and currently looks after 2 hives close to her home.   Louise is interested in the educating of children as beekeepers of the future.

louise@cardiffbeekeepers.co.uk

Lynette El-Khatib

Committee Member
Lynette has been a beekeeper for eight years, and runs four hives in Llandough near Penarth.

 She joined the committee in 2017, and has been an active member of the training team. Lynette has become an appentice to Harold and Barbara, and assisting in the delivery of the begineers training course in Duffryn.

Lynette has also represented the association at pollinator events hosted by Cardiff University.

Barbara Williams

Training Co-ordinator & Apiary Manager
Barbara has been keeping bees for over 40 years and was the beekeeper at the Museum of Welsh Life (now National History Museum of Wales, St Fagans), for 30 years.

Barbara has been an association member for over 40 years, holding various committee positions, including chair and secretary. Barbara is presently the association Apiary Manager for Dyffryn Gardens and training officer.

training@cardiffbeekeepers.co.uk

Emma Davies

Committee Member
Emma is part of the outdoor learning team at Llanishen Fach Primary School where she has been keeping bees for the last 4 years. Along with pupils she looks after two hives and runs the school beekeeping club.  She is also Schools Officer for the WBKA helping to encourage young people into beekeeping.  The contact for that post is schools@wbka.com

emma@cardiffbeekeepers.co.uk

Peter Shaw

Treasurer
Peter has been a long-standing member of the association, and previously held position as a Regional Bee Inspector. Peter runs a successful beekeeping business suppling beekeeping equipment.

treasurer@cardiffbeekeepers.co.uk